LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

CAN bus and cRIO FPGA

Hi,

I am currently working on a project with a 3 degree of freedom sensor that uses a CAN bus protocol, and the 11 bit standard base frame format.  I have a cRIO 9014 and a NI 9853 CAN bus module.  I need to send and receive data on one CAN port, to do this I was hoping to use the power port CAN0.

I need to send and receive periodic messages from the sensor on startup to put it into the correct mode.  Once the sensor is setup into the correct mode, the sensor will send data every millisecond until stopped.  This will need to be logged to a file for interrogation later.  Each test will have its own results file ideally to make identification easier.

I must add that I am new to LabVIEW and am currently working through tutorials and self-paced learning to try and increase my understanding. 

I have checked through the NI Example Finder, but I struggling to make progress with those.  I was just wondering if anyone would have any advice on the best way to approach this problem or could point me in the right direction with this.  I want to learn how to use the system correctly but am uncertain at the moment where to start

Many thanks for any help

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(6,533 Views)
Hi,

I use the 9853 module all the time with cRIO devices, that's ok.
But I think you should take a different project to learn LabVIEW instead of diving fresh into host, RT target and FPGA programming...
Use all tutorials you can get to learn the basics of LabVIEW and CAN bus!
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(6,518 Views)

If you can, follow GerdW's advice, but I understand that it isn't always an option. If you need to start working on this now just take everything one step at a time.