LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Catching pulses with NI USB 6341

Solved!
Go to solution

While programming analog test sequences at a circuit I came across the issue, that I need a simultaneous monitoring of a digital alert output, if a pulse (~1ms) happened while analog measurements are executed.

I have a USB 6341 in my test setup that I used for analog purposes so far. Is it possible that this device can do something like:

1. Configure one USB 6341 digital input continuously waiting for a pulse.

2. Executing test sequences with other devices.

3. Check USB 6341 if a pulse happened meanwhile and stop the further pulse acquisition.

This sounds very simple, but I am very new to the digital stuff and and got lost in the complex descriptions of digital functionalities in the manual and Google didn't help either.

Thanks in advance for your help.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(932 Views)

Since you want this task monitoring for pulses in the background while your app does other things, I would very much recommend using a counter configured for "Edge Counting" measurement.  DAQmx Timing should be set for Continuous Sampling with Implicit timing.   (See the shipping examples that will illustrate this.)

Once you start the task, every pulse will increment the count register.  This happens in the background whether you're interacting with the task or not.  Then whenever you happen to retrieve the count value with a call to DAQmx Read, you'll get the total # of pulses since you started the task.

-Kevin P

CAUTION! New LabVIEW adopters -- it's too late for me, but you *can* save yourself. The new subscription policy for LabVIEW puts NI's hand in your wallet for the rest of your working life. Are you sure you're *that* dedicated to LabVIEW? (Summary of my reasons in this post, part of a voluminous thread of mostly complaints starting here).
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(903 Views)

Thanks, Kevin. Let me see if I got this right: