LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Clearing Variables at end of a loop

Hi All,

So I am new to labView, but have gone through all the tutorials and looked through the forum first. I am having trouble understanding how to clear out my arrays (effectively delete them) at the end of my main loop so they can be rebuilt on the next run of the main loop. 

My program reads in a user-defined amount of samples from two DMMs using VISA communications over COM ports. What I want it to do is after finishing a run, delete and clean up its data so that on the next run the arrays that will be created start from index 0. I know how I would do this through writing code, but I am having some trouble understanding how labView manages variable resources. I attached the VI below. I know I have some other things to clean up, so if we could just focus on the two main arrays that come out of the VISA messaging that would help the most.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 11
(5,936 Views)

updated vi with some cleanup to fix COM port issues. 

any thoughts on how to initialize or delete the arrays at the beginning/end of a loop run?

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 11
(5,842 Views)

Don't have/use NXG, so can't look at your code (but thanks for attaching code).  However, the way to "clear" an array is to simply wire an empty array.  So if you have a While Loop and bring out an array wire with lots of data, break the wire and at the now-broken right (assuming your wires run left-to-right) end of the broken wire, click and create an Array (which, by default, will be blank, thereby "clearing" the data on the wire).

Bob Schor

P.S. -- usually you initialize (clear) Variables at the beginning of a loop.  At the end of the loop, you either "use them or lose them", i.e. you either want the data on the wire and therefore take it someplace and use the data, or you don't need it anymore, and simply don't carry the wire forward (i.e. "lose" it).

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 11
(5,719 Views)