LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

#Define C Code to LabVIEW

Hello, I'm working with C Code, and I'm trying to get it into LabVIEW. I'm pretty new at this, although I'm learning alot in the process by going through the forums!

My question  deals with the #define directive. I'm currently trying to control a Star-Dundee USB Brick Spacewire device, and I don't think I'm setting the speed correctly. Using a dll, here is the function which is called: 

CFGSpaceWire_SetBrickBaseTransmitRate(*phDevice, CFG_BRK_CLK_200_MHZ, CFG_BRK_DVDR_1, 0xff);

CFG_BRK_CLK_200_MHZ is defined as:

#define CFG_BRK_CLK_200_MHZ        (BIT2 | BIT0) 

BIT2 and BIT0 are defined as: 

#define BIT0    (0x00000001)

#define BIT2    (0x00000004)

What's the best way to implement the  CFGSpaceWire_SetBrickBaseTransmitRate using the .dll? Can this be translated into unsigned or signed bits, or would I need to do more than that? 

Thanks, 

Andrea 

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(3,578 Views)

0x00000001 is U32. The pointer might be more problematic, from where do you get it (dll call). And 0xff should be U8

Felix

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(3,577 Views)

F. Schubert wrote:

0x00000001 is U32. The pointer might be more problematic, from where do you get it (dll call). And 0xff should be U8

Felix

To assume that a constant 0xff is automatically indicating an 8 bit parameter is a bit unsafe. C compilers do have a thing called automatic numeric adaption or something like that, so independant what the parameter type is, it will do the right thing (unless you define a numeric constant that is bigger than the parameter type can handle in which case a selfrespecting compiler should give at least a warning).