LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Exception within the external code called by Call Library Function Node Problem

Solved!
Go to solution

Greetings, I am a complete newbie at LabVIEW and require some assistance. I am doing reliability testing and am getting this error around 2000 cycles. The code sends digital output to a actuator which drives the actuator down, it reads a signal from the thing I am testing. Then if there is a signal it should then drive the actuator back up and repeat. After roughly 2000 cycles I get the error:

[LABVIEW: An exception occurred within the external code called by a Call Library Function Node. This might have corrupted LabViews's memory. Save any work to a new location and restart LabView. VI "Footswitch.vi" was stopped at node 0x0 of subVI "DAQmx Start Task.vi 7"].

I created this code without any prior knowledge of LabView so I know its not good, but it does function (somehow). Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance. Also I have attached the VI.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(4,691 Views)
Solution
Accepted by cstemm

cstemm,

There are a few obvious errors in the code that need to be addressed.  First of all, I am unsure how your code even survived 2000 cycles, as you have a boolean value going into these while loops:

cos.JPG

What happens if you read a false value? The loops will be stuck in an infinite loop...as the value read in through the tunnel will never change, and the stop condition will always be 'false.'   I think what you meant to do...was keep reading the digital value until it is true, so this is what needs to be in a while loop.