LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Final release for macOS support for NI Software

Thanks for the answers, I thought that would be the case.

Just trying to get my head around the subscription model. I work as a contractor producing Test Systems and I was trying to work out whether it was better to try to talk the companies I work for to pay for the subscription while I am there, or for me to pay and just supply executables, or both!!

If I use my own copy of LabVIEW and I leave a company just with executables then I suspect they will moan that they will have no way of supporting the code themselves. Also, if I then got a contract at another company which doesn't wont let me use LabVIEW then I have paid for a subscription I might not use for a while.

At the company I am currently working at I did talk them into paying for a copy of LabVIEW Pro 2021, it did take a lot of work/discussion for this to happen. I was asked by numerous people why don't I use C and Python but I stuck to my guns. At least when I leave this contract they will still have a working copy of LabVIEW to perform any changes they require.

0 Kudos
Message 21 of 25
(995 Views)

@apg_air wrote:

I work as a contractor producing Test Systems and I was trying to work out whether it was better to try to talk the companies I work for to pay for the subscription while I am there, or for me to pay and just supply executables, or both!!

Look into the NI Alliance Partnership.  As part of it, you can get nearly all NI software (Software Reference Library) really cheap (relatively).

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 22 of 25
(982 Views)

@apg_air