LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

How to turn on/off multiple outputs with one button using USB-6501 & Labview 2010

Solved!
Go to solution

I have written a VI with 24 buttons, one for each output of the USB-6501, to turn on and off 24 relays.  Now I want to add more buttons that turn on and off mutliple outputs.  Let's call these buttons Presets and with a press of the Preset button some outputs turn on and some turn off.  Get it?  The VI I have included a screenshot of is used to test a transmission controller and rather than manually selecting relays one at a time I want a Preset button that sets up the relays instantly for the next step of the test.

The VI I have written uses tasks created in NI MAX.

I am a Labview beginner so please try to keep your solutions easy to understand....if possible.

Thanks,

Kevin

BTW I am enrolled in Core 1 and 2 next month in Richardson, TX.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 10
(4,381 Views)

Hey,

You're basically talking about using property nodes to change the value of the controls. This is demonstrated in the attached VI and is discussed more thoroughly here:

Control References: Overview

http://www.ni.com/white-paper/3159/en#toc4

--Ryan S.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 10
(4,368 Views)

This vi is 2012 and won't open in 2010......

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 10
(4,363 Views)

OK, I downloaded 2012 and opened your vi...it does exactly what I want it to do.....but how do I make it talk to my USB-6501?

0 Kudos
Message 4 of 10
(4,341 Views)

I hope that image of your block diagram is not your real VI. It is just silly to use individual buttons wired to so many DAQmx Writes. You should only have a single DAQmx Write and it should be inside an event structure so that it only executes when a value changes. You can use an array of Booleans on the front panel or build an array on the block diagram.