LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Is this a proper use of a local variable?

Solved!
Go to solution

I am in the process of refactoring a single VI control system (sig gen, laser, camera, and oscope) to use the actor framework.

This is my first time writing g-code since college (very simple simulation / data acquisition scripts) and I am having a hard time understanding when I should / shouldn't use a local variable. The code I am refactoring has them littered all over the place with several feedback nodes to process the data we are recording. I don't think I should use them to manipulate data and I was trying to avoid using them entirely, but I don't see a way to get this indicator working as I want without this.

Is there a better way to do what I implemented here?

And if you could point me to any good (and cheap) g-code learning resources I'd greatly appreciate it.

Ian

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(1,207 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author ianzur

In this particular case, the Serial Communication Log data should be stored in the actor class. The appending of new data should happen in a subVI and then send to the Actor Core, no need for local variables. Same for the initial empty string write to the local variable. Just fire the beforementioned subVI in the beginning when the string in the Actor Core data is empty.

Some people will say that local variables should be avoid at all costs. Generally I use local variables only if I have to update front panel elements in different places (for example when loading settings from a file). Technically, you can do everything without local variables, but if they are called only sporadically, like when loading a settings file, the easyness of using a local variable outweighs the additional programming for me.