cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

LabVIEW subscription model for 2022

Solved!
Go to solution

@1100fps wrote:

Because I work in the machine vision industry, I may have to think about jumping to an alternate platform and will start tracking features on competing platforms.  I hate to start learning a new programming environment, but given the disparity in feature sets, and customer support, it may be time.  Sigh.

As far as machine vision goes, you should have looked at other options already for some years. IMAQ Vision was a nice Toolkit 20 years ago after they had purchased it from an Alliance Member and reworked it to be more inline with other LabVIEW VI libraries. NI-IMAQ and IMAQdx where promising hardware drivers. NI has many years ago pretty much stopped selling Vision acquisition hardware (yes they have or rather had two or so display port cards) but since quite a few years they discontinued pretty much everything else that had to do with vision hardware. IMAQ Vision hasn't seen any significant change other than very minor fixes in something like 8 - 10 years.

The OCR functions and barcode functions often don't work, where other libraries like Halcon have no problems with exactly the same source image. So yes, NI abandoned machine vision more or less and several years ago they stopped the motion business unit completely. Machine vision in LabVIEW is still possible, and if you have not to involved requirements you may even get away with using IMAQ Vision, but for modern and professional machine Vision libraries you need to look elsewhere. The problem there is that they don't do LabVIEW bindings, so you have to create them yourself if you want to use it in LabVIEW.

Rolf Kalbermatter
My Blog
Message 341 of 752
(1,832 Views)

@Jay14159265 wrote: