LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Letting user input the number of data channels to daqmx directly instead of creating tasks.

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello

I am writing a program to control the NI USB 6501 DIO Box. I am using the NI LabVIEW 2018 Version.

I am relatively new to LabVIEW and was wondering if it is possible for the program to get the number of data channels needed to be controlled from the user instead of creating new tasks everytime.

I would like for the number of the data channels to go directly from the user to the DAQmx function so I can control the DIO Box. I tried to give a big range of data channels to DAQ but I was met with the error of 200524. It says that I need the exact number of data channels to the task channels.

I would like to use my program for huge range that can be scalable and does not necessarily have to be the same number everytime.

Please give me an idea on how I can fix this. I am sorry if I left anything out. If there is anymore info needed from my side, I am ready to provide it.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 6
(933 Views)

Hi SR,

@SR01 wrote:

if it is possible for the program to get the number of data channels needed to be controlled from the user instead of creating new tasks everytime.

I would like for the number of the data channels to go directly from the user to the DAQmx function so I can control the DIO Box.

What have you tried and where are you stuck? Mind to share some code?

That being said:

• You can create DAQmx tasks programmatically.
  • You can define programmatically which channels and how many channels to use within the task.
  • You can have your user select the number of channels using some frontpanel elements.

So the answer would be: yes, you can create a VI where the user can select the number of channels in the DIO DAQmx task…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
Message 2 of 6
(925 Views)

Hi