Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Millisecond timer with pause

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I am very new to LabVIEW and programming

I am trying to implement a millisecond timer using two tick clock(ms) functions. The timer must run at the beginning and it should pause on a rising edge of the digital signal. Although I am able to achieve this, the is some problem with the accuray of the timer, as it shows atleast 2ms lesser than the actual value. Moreover, sometimes (especially in the beginning) it also shows some awkward values like 1ms. Kindly help me to know, if there is a better way to implement the timer or how can I solve the inaccuracy.  timer_accuracy.PNG

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 16
(829 Views)

Hi gok,

@gok010 wrote:

Kindly help me to know, if there is a better way to implement the timer or how can I solve the inaccuracy.  

You forgot to attach the code.

All we got is an image: we cannot edit/run/debug images in LabVIEW!

Comments/Improvements:

• There are terminals with missing labels.
  • There are uninitialized shift registers.
  • No need for the 0/1 constants at the IndexArray node.
  • Why do you convert the millisecond difference to DBL?
  • You can (probably) replace the innermost case structures with Select nodes…
  • There is a 20ms wait inside the loop. You will never measure anything in the 1ms/2ms range…
  • You can use the output of the wait functions instead of that TickCount inside the loop, they give the same value…
  • The DAQmxDelete belongs outside the case structure!
Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 16
(802 Views)

In addition to Gerd's notes on the code, just in general there's a flaw in your plan and that is the fact that you are running on a non-real-time operating system (presumably Windows).