LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Multiple analog inputs performing different tasks

Hi everyone,

I'm relatively new to Labview (used 5 for some basic measurement whilst at uni!) and I've been tasked with some large scale data collection and report logging for work (thrown in at the deep end!).

I want to read 2 analog inputs (which are voltages) and get one data point every minute (what is the best way to do this? - a timed loop or can the DAQ assistant do this?) and export the data at the end of the program as a graph to a word report.

These inputs measure two voltages from a battery pack which is being charged/discharged. I have already played around with the word report generation package (thank god for the generous evaluation period! lol) and have been able to generate the report structure I want to use.

I also want to continuously read another analog input (again a voltage) and a digital input. The analog input will tell the report which test the battery is currently under and the digital input shows a global pass/fail state for the battery. At the moment I am using a case structure to write to the word report which test (if any) that the battery failed on.

The tests performed and the pass/fail conditions are all controlled separately from programming within the external test box, and are simply sent to the DAQ as voltages.

Now comes the fun part, I need to be able to duplicate this process 50 times (for 50 separate batteries being tested), can Labview handle that number of duplicate processes?

I also have a few questions regarding the DAQ assistant, as I said I want to be able to do different things with the analog inputs (ie 2 separate graphs and a numeric indicator) do I need to have three separate DAQ assistants running? Or can the signals be split up?

If anyone has any specific ideas/solutions about how to achieve all of this or could point me to some reading material or examples it would be most appreciated.