cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Only 50% to successfully stop the sub VI loop using main VI control

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi everyone,

I am a beginner of Labview and I am trying to write a programme to build an array and export it to txt.

It was successful when I run the sub VI directly. However, when I added a main VI and use global variable to control the stop button of while loop in sub VI, the programme does not run properly. It can successfully run one time but when I try another run with the same procedure there is a wrong "True" value passing through the global variable, forcing my while loop in sub VI stopped. It is alternating between these two condition and I cannot figure out why this happen.

Can anyone explain this? I have attached my VIs below.

Cheng

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(1,044 Views)

You have not attached anything.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(1,035 Views)

Sorry for that, I have uploaded now. Thanks for reminding me!

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 8
(1,025 Views)

Kindly share the vi after down converting to LabVIEW 2018 version.

CLD Using LabVIEW since 2013
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 8
(1,013 Views)
Solution
Accepted by topic author cl251

Hi cl,

please take the LabVIEW beginners tutorials as offered in the Training resources in the header of this LabVIEW board…

Your VIs show a big race condition: two processes access the very same resource - and the winner is unknown (aka more or less randomly choosen)!

• The main VI reads a latching button within microseconds in a polling (aka CPU-hogging) loop and writes its value into that global.
  • The subVI checks this global only once per second: how big are the chances it will read a TRUE value when this global is overwritten within microseconds?

Solutions:

• You don't need a subVI for this simple task: place all code within the loop of your MainVI.
  • Leanr about proper programming patterns: the basic ones are explained in the tutorials mentioned before…