LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

PLL FPGA (Sine Wave generator, PID and Mod function)

Good day.

Mainly I work with Matlab/Simulink software and now I am designing a modified PLL system. I’ve implemented this block in Labview 2014 with the Control and Simulation module without any issues. However in a couple of weeks this code should be ran on cRIO 9068 FPGA, so now I am trying to convert my codes to the FPGA code. I have some experience in FPGA programming in terms of the control of analogue inputs/outputs, but this PLL design is something totally new for me.

I’ve designed the code in FXP (I did the same code in SGL before but then decided to focus on the FXP version). The Simulink representation is presented in the message as well. I am trying to evaluate the performance of the system by using three sine wave generators (A, B and C phases).

1. What is it about the Amplitude values? Because in my case it shows 127.5, I assume 2^7, but why exactly this value and not 128? Or 256 – 2^8?
  2. PID FPGA – the output is zero. More or less I figured out how to use the gain values, but more confused with a setpoint input. Because in Control Theory a step signal is used to tune a PID controller, and this is the way how I do it in Simulink as well. However in case of the FPGA code I assume I need to put a real targeted value?
  3. Why the limits by default are 2^15?
  4. The sampling time – 1 s by default. The most confusing since I can reduce it to 10 ms, but can the PID work faster? Or I just don’t understand something here and there is no need to do it?
  5. Quotient and Remainder that does not work here. But I found another topic where I’ve the suggestion to use a while loop (please see the attached model). Are there any other options, or this one will do?

I know that most of these questions are quite basic, but I really need to understand the processes in the model before run it in real life. Thank you in advance.

Download All