LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Passing cluster input as argument to dll

Solved!
Go to solution

Hey, I am new to LabView and I am tasked with investigating the use of python to write test cases for our labview codes. I found out that there is an option to build "dll" file. So I built a simple cluster made of a vector and an integer. The code simply adds the integer to all the elements of the vector and returns an output vector. I have built the dll file and have this as my function prototype:

void __stdcall func(Cluster *input_cluster, double output_array[], int32_t len);

typedef struct {
    int32_t dimSize;
    double Numeric[1];
} DoubleArrayBase;
typedef DoubleArrayBase **DoubleArray;
typedef struct {
    DoubleArray input_array;
    double Numeric;
} Cluster;
I am trying to use ctypes in python to run the dll and I can successfully pass in the arguments and it runs without any error. Unfortunately the output is not what I expect, it is just zeros. The problem I think is with the vector definition in the cluster. "DoubleArray" is a data type which is a double pointer to the structure "DoubleArrayBase". However it is hard to know from this header file definition whether the the double pointer is a pointer to an array of pointers or if it is just pointer to a pointer. If I were to do a C program of this I would have a pointer pointing to an array of pointers, which in turn point to the array of structs. I have tried just about all combination in my python code and nothing seem to work! I would gladly accept any help I can in figuring this out.

Attaching the labview code:
Abhi_kool_0-1709993486059.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 24
(555 Views)

You certainly could import that with ctypes in Python but unless you want to dig up to your ears into how compilers like to arrange structs in memory, and other such “interesting” low level compiler details, my recommendation is simply: DON’T!