LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Plotting of graph with more than 4000 data points in Excel

Hi All,

I am fairly new to labview world. I am trying to plot out line graphs of the results from my program into Excel worksheet. I have huge set of data points(10000) stored in each of 10 different worksheets in MS Excel workbook. I am trying to compile results into last sheet as graphical representation of all the various dataset into 10 different graphs.

My problem is that I am getting error because MS Graph does not allow me to plot more than 4000 rows or datapoints. Is there better and cleaner way of programming this? Or if some one can provide an example of how to handle such case. I'll appreciate any help.

My goal is to able to plot one set of data 1st then I will be able to run through various worksheets to compile into standalone results.

ERROR MESSAGE: "Report Generation Toolkit: Graphs you create or edit in Microsoft Graph cannot contain more than 4,000 rows or columns, including row and column headers. "

Also for example if we run Line Graph example and change the # of data points from 100 to 4000, we get same message.

Error -41114 occurred at NI_ReportGenerationToolkit.lvlib:Excel_Insert_Chart.vi -> NI_Excel.lvclass:Excel Insert Graph.vi -> Line Graph (Excel).vi

Thanks,
Saurabh

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(12,623 Views)

The first question I would have is why aren't you plotting out the graphs in LabVIEW? The number of points is not at all huge for LabVIEW.

I also did a search for 'Excel graph' and found this recent post. I'm not sure if newer versions of Excel allow for more rows but decimation is probably the best option if you insist on using Excel.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(12,606 Views)

Hi Dennis,