LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Program PIC18F microcontroller with LabView?

Hi all,

I am new to PIC programming. I have experience in using labView to do data aquisition and automated test.

I am wondering how to use LabView to program a PIC microcontroller and how to do data communication between PIC and LabView. Is it possible?

Thanks

Message 1 of 19
(16,972 Views)

With RS232 as the most simple alternative. You can both communicate and program a PIC18F chip with UART onboard. I think you can find code for a RS232 boot loader on the Microchip site. But this will require that the boot loader code is pre programmed into the chip. So it is a chicken and egg paradox 😉

Besides which, my opinion is that Express VIs Carthage must be destroyed deleted
(Sorry no Labview "brag list" so far)
Message 2 of 19
(16,951 Views)

You cannnot program a PIC directly from LabVIEW.  You need an environment (C compiler or assembler) that can target the PIC.  Even if you use the LabVIEW C Generator (expensive), you still need a C compiler and the appropriate hardware to program the PIC.

Once you do have code running on the PIC, you can use a serial connection to communicate between the PIC and LabVIEW, but the PIC code needs to be written to allow serial communication.

Message 3 of 19
(16,937 Views)

Hi, i would like to add on that, Even if you get the boot loader thing done( lots of jdm programmers available), you will need to convert labview generated C in to assembly for PIC18 and as far as i know no software like that exists. You can always write your own compiler(taken that you are capable of doing it, dont think you would want to do that). Its better to start using languages built for use with the PIC. If you have decided on C than you get numerous choices such as C18, Mikro C, Boost C etc.

*Guy who has worked with 18Fs for 1.5 years*

LabVIEW 8.2,8.6,2009...still learning 😛
0 Kudos
Message 4 of 19
(16,930 Views)

@wond3rboy wrote: