LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

QMH with while loop?

Hello community,

I'm a student who's getting back into LabVIEW after a break. I'm currently working on a project using the QMH (Queued Message Handler) structure, which I was familiar(ish) with. However, I've run into an issue where it seems that the QMH is not working as expected when there's an active while loop inside it.

In my program, I noticed that the QMH doesn't send out strings while the while loop is running. I've made a simplified example below to illustrate the problem since I am not authorized to put the actual code here:

When starting the program and press the "Something" button, neither the array indicator nor the string display changes. Both of them only change when I press the button to stop the while loop. Is there a way to send out strings (i.e., move on to the next case in MHL) while the while loop is running? 

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated. Thank you!

Billy

The code was written in LabVIEW 2018 macOS version.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(277 Views)

If you run your program in Highlight Execution mode, you'll see why the Message Handling Loop is no longer handling messages.  You have blocked execution until that while loop is complete and the only action that can end the while loop is a button press.  Think Dataflow. 

To help you fix this, we need to know more about what you want to accomplish. 

aputman
------------------
Heads up! NI has moved LabVIEW to a mandatory SaaS subscription policy, along with a big price increase. Make your voice heard.
Message 2 of 8
(240 Views)

Hello aputman,

Thank you for replying so fast.

I did run the program in Highlight Execution mode, and it is running as expected.

The problem is that it seems the string cannot be send out the while loop without stopping the loop.

Basically I am looking for method to send data out of the loop with out stopping.