cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Requesting Help Outputting a Square Wave Through Digital Output

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello LabVIEW professionals,

I am a LabVIEW novice who has tried to extensively search for a way to do what I assume is a simple job. For the past two weeks I have googled and watched youtube videos and even looked at a LabVIEW textbook, all to no avail.

I am trying to write a program that outputs a logic signal square wave (+5 V high, 0 V low). Creating the square wave was not a challenge, as I used the simulate signal VI, and it can even take in a frequency from the user. This square wave will be sent to a stepper motor controller that will view the rising edge of the square wave as a trigger to step the motor. In this way, by altering the frequency of the square wave, the user can alter the speed of the motor.

I have figured out a way that is probably incredibly inelegant, but works to output an oscillating logic signal. After punching in a desired frequency, the user pushes a button to run the motor. This button starts or stops a while loop which the signal generation and output are located within.

With the background info out of the way, let me explain my problem. The timing given by the user, the frequency, is dependent upon the wait time between different iterations of the loop. I can "eye-ball" the correct amount of time to tell the loop to wait in order to get a frequency of 1 to correctly oscillate, however there are issues when going to higher frequencies. For instance, at a frequency of 10, according to a test indicator I have, the value doesn't oscillate at all. I assume this is due to a sampling issue where the program only samples in such a way that it only hits high or low logic values, but everything I have tried has not fixed the problem or just created new ones. I have attached the program to this post.