LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Serial communication to arduino not happening

Hi,

I am a complete beginner to labview. I completed all the basic tutorials including math operations and wanted to try something a bit more sophisticated. I want to connect my arduino uno to labview via serial communication and print the data in labview GUI that arduino is sending. For that I wrote super simple arduino uno code and built a labview instrument (that sadly is not working)

void setup() {
  // Initialize serial communication at 9600 baud rate with 8 data bits and no parity
  Serial.begin(9600, SERIAL_8N1);
}

void loop() {
  static int number = 1; // Starting number

// Send the current number over serial
  Serial.println(number);

// Increment the number
  number++;

// If the number reaches 360, reset it to 1
  if (number > 360) {
    number = 1;
  }

// Delay for 1 second
  delay(1000);
}

I have checked all the COM ports and baud rate, everything seems to match, but when I run my instrument, I have no data depicted in the buffer. It may seem like silly mistake, but please excuse and help the absolute beginner I am. Thank you in advance.

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(315 Views)

I guess for starters, you're only reading 1 byte and your numbers will only be 1 byte for the first 10 digits (assuming start at 0). 

Have you probed your error cluster while it's running?

Do you see in your Arduino IDE data actually being posted to help confirm your code is running?

Are you 100% confident COM4 is the Serial Port representative or the Arduino?

I also believe you do want your termination character enabled.  Not sure I remember entirely what comes out of Arduino, but I believe it terminates (especially println).

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(306 Views)