LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Signal Processing accelerometer ADXL345 using FFT

i am new to Labview and just learning FFT signal processing. I am trying to make data processing in the adxl345 accelerometer. In this project, I use ESP32 devkit v1, adxl345 accelerometer with data rate settings of 400Hz and acceleration of 8g. but when I put the sensor on the vibrating table it has a frequency of 36 Hz and the one that reads on the labview is around 44Hz. is there something wrong with my Labview program?
Im using labview 2015

sasa_one_0-1686992629721.png

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 18
(2,077 Views)

You have a "loop time" of ~53ms according to the picture (not really a loop time, it's just for the partial code between the two ticks), so you add only about 20 points per second to the ever-growing data array. It is safe to say that this is not a sufficient sampling rate for the frequencies you are interested in and all you get are alias frequencies.

As a first step, I would recommend to use a cleaner code architecture. Your local variables are not needed, because the wire is right there! It is also safe to say that stacked sequences are out. Just don't use them. Nobody does anymore.

For the FFT, maybe you could use a ptbypt version with a reasonable history length to avoid collecting an ever-growing array.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 18
(2,032 Views)

Your LabVIEW code shows you are "new to LabVIEW" (use of Stacked Sequence, wrong way to use VISA to read serial data from microprocessor, inconsistent and sometimes "wrong" use of Error Line).  I also wonder what you know about signal processing, and what you really want to acquire and analyze.