LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

TDMS Read data type doesnt match data type at Write stage

Hey guys, I am fairly new to using the TDMS functions so bare with with me.

I am using TDMS Write to write arrays of Unsigned 16bit data to a TDMS file. For a process further down the line (and to appease a customer) I have a separate tool to convert those .TDMS files to .TXT files in manageable chunks. 

When I use the TDMS Read function the data coming out defaults to a double (64bit), not the 16bit data that was initially stored. This is inflating the file sizes, and forcing the data to be Read-In as a U16 array by connecting a U16 array to the "data type" actually *slows down* the loop execution speed.

For example.. Just using TDMS Read and leaving the "File Type" unconnected, the loop iteration speed is about 8ms, and all my U16 data ends up being saved as a double. If i force it to Read as U16 by using the "File Type" connection, labview executes 50% slower (12ms per loop) and the conversion process takes longer than the customer would like.

Furthermore, if you use the "Open & View" TMDS function and look at the data, it has a significant amount of trailing 0's and is clearly not U16. Does the TDMS Write function force all data to be represented as a double? Is there anyway to get around this?

My code is on another system, sorry I dont have any screenshots, I was hoping this was a TDMS function issue someone was familiar with.

Thanks,

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(247 Views)