LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Tell us about your large LabVIEW applications!

tbob, I would have to say (IMO) the biggest disadvantage to LabView is that I find it very non-intuitive for those seeking the self-taught route. For example, something as simple as changing background and text colors on a tool, you would think there would be a "property" option for that or a "options" for that tool to change color. But holding the shift key and right clicking the mouse button? Who'da thunk it?

Yeah, my program is enormous. And looking back, knowing what I do now, I now see how I made parts of it so much more complicated than they needed to be. Of course, every time I put my program to work on the floor, someone eventually finds an oddball way I never dreamed of to make it lock up. And it's back to the drawing board!

The biggest advantage to LabView (IMO) is the huge library of examples you can look at. That's been a great help for me in programming in LV!
Amateur programmer for over 10 years!
0 Kudos
Message 21 of 105
(7,311 Views)
Man, I have become so depentdent on labview that I convert my excel files to .dat file and use labview to operate on the data instead of the Macros from Excel. crazy huh?
Message 22 of 105
(7,323 Views)
I'm rewritting a LV 6.0.2 app in LV 7.1.1 taking the advantage of events and making it more modular and expandable.

One part is a driver layer for the security testers of my customer. This driver consists of by now of 60 VIs and CTLs. This driver is deployed as Active-X Server, DLL and LLB and also used in the main application. This driver is acompanied by help in CHM and PDF format for the programmers. I also created some VIs and CMD files for automatical build. The driver is not complete by now. It misses the private functions for firmware update and setting internal parameters. It will expand by another 25-30 VIs for the driver and 2 apps.