LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Twin VIs run differently depending on which starts first

I'm fairly new to LabView and I'm experimenting with parallel loops in a server/client configuration. I've written a VI that counts the number of seconds since the VI started and sends that count over TCP to a twin VI which receives the packet and sends its own second counter. The VIs are quite literally twins with the only difference being swapped listen/send ports. 

When I run the VIs I get some strange behavior... which ever one starts first runs perfectly fine. It counts seconds and sends that count over TCP and the main receive loop runs normally as well. The VI that is started after the first, however, does not run correctly. It receives packets from the other VI but it does not count/send seconds. I cannot seem to figure out why this is happening... the two VIs are identical and should behave the same what should it matter which one was started first.  Does anyone know what is happening and if so can you please tell me.

I've attached the two VIs as a reference in hopes that someone can help me resolve this issue.  

Any help would be much appreciated,

~meanmon13

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 14
(3,084 Views)

Don't quote me on this, and I can't open your VIs so I'm just guessing, but are you trying to listen on the same port with both VIs? You can't have two listeners on the same port (I don't believe). Try setting up listeners on each end on different ports and see if that works. The order matters because whichever VI starts first will set up a listener on that port, the other one wont be able to. Therefore you won't get the data sent to it. Run with highlight execution on and I bet you will see an error when you try to create a listener in the second VI you start.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 14
(3,076 Views)