LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Visa serial comm (use event ) problem at loopback but virtual port OK

I am new to Labview!

I build a Vi to perform serial comm to test the visa info.

First, I test this vi at virtual ports ,comm1 for serial program, comm 2 for this vi,one for transmission and one for receiving. OK!

but when I use it at single Comm3 (Prolific USB serial port,MAX's view is OK) and loopback ,I got

Error -1073807298!

I Don't figure out what's the problem, Could Give me some advice? Thanks!

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,342 Views)

Hi Alex,

where does this error occur (at which function)?

General comments:

- stay away from accessing the serial port in parallel loops. It can be possible - but I don't recommend it.

- You configured to use the TermChar at VISASerialPortInit: get rid of the BytesAtPort function! This one is NOT NEEDED in >99% of serial communication cases!

- get rid of the VISAEvent: just read a suitable number of bytes from the port - you have configured a TermChar, don't you!?

Did you examine the BasicSerialRead&Write example VI? When you forget about the BytesAtPort it explains serial comm in a very basic way…

Other comments:

- get rid of all those "value" property nodes

- use a shift register for "accumulation…" and delete it's local variable

- clean up your VI: lots of bended wires

- always attach real VIs (or snippets) instead of images: they are just hard to debug in LabVIEW…

Best regards,
GerdW

using LV2016/2019/2021 on Win10/11+cRIO, TestStand2016/2019
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,300 Views)

HI GerdW!

Thanks for reply!