cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

digital trigger to stop/start analog data acquisition

Solved!
Go to solution

Rod:

Thanks for your direction. I am fairly new in Labview world. As per attached vi, I can start acquisition using PFI0. I have AI1, AI2 and AI3 analog inputs available but have a tough time to implement your idea for stopping acquisition when voltage drops to zero (or a specified voltage). Can you help me to complete the attached vi as per your recommendation.

I am using labview 8.2, if you decide to complete the vi, please send also .jpg of the front panel and block diagram in case I cannot open your vi, I can recreate your vi using the jpg's.

Many thanks in advance.

David T.

0 Kudos
Message 11 of 29
(2,994 Views)

Hi David T.,

Most likely some of the issues that you are running into stem from the fact that you are reading multiple channels and samples as a waveform.  So to do any kind of comparison, you are going to have to:

1) decide which channel you want to test -> use Index Array.vi

2) pull out the data from the waveform -> use Get Waveform Components.vi

3) decide which sample to compare to your setpoint -> use another Index Array.vi

See the screenshot below:

issue.png

Have a great day,

Chris V

Applications Engineer
National Instruments
0 Kudos
Message 12 of 29
(2,973 Views)

Hello David,

Chris is correct that you will have to index out the channel you want.  The only edit I would make to his example is to use the Array Max & Min function and pull out the maximum value from the array to see if it has exceeded the threshold.  

stop.png

Rod T.
0 Kudos
Message 13 of 29
(2,969 Views)

Chris and Rod:

Thanks for all the tips. I revised the vi as you recommended (see attached). Your recommended threshold sensing part works perfect. But now the start trigger (PFI0) does not work.Here is why: