cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

measure PWM duty cycle

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I have never done LabVIEW Real time before and have a quite simple question.

I know that there is a pulse width measurement vi in the waveform palette and it can be used to measure the PWM's duty cycle and frequency. My question is, is it necessary to use this pulse width measurement vi on a real time platform (compactRIO, compactDAQ etc...) in order for it to work? In order words, can I just use the normal LabVIEW to measure the PWM's duty cycle and frequency?

Is there any alternative to measuring the duty cycle and frequency without using the compactRIO or compactDAQ platform? My concern is because I have not done any Real time programming, and the due date is tight and there is not much to invest into learning the real time programming.

Just want to know the experience of others who have done this before.

Thanks

yours sincerely,

hlim

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 5
(8,175 Views)

Oh there's lots of ways to measure frequency and duty cycle, several of which don't require real time.  As long as the timeing can be precise from some hardware timed measurements. 

If you have an analog in, take a buffered read.  This can either be continuous samples, or a finite sampleing at about 10 times the rate you expect to see the signal frequency.  Then you can run it through some threshold code like this one and get frequency and duty cycle.

https://forums.ni.com/t5/LabVIEW/Two-Threshold-Analog-to-Digital/td-p/2738762

Or if you have a counter input then the read function will actually return what the frequency and duty cycle are.

What hardware do you have on hand?  Any of the mid grade mSeries daq cards are going to have buffered AI daq, and most have a few counters.

Message 2 of 5
(8,152 Views)

Hello Hoovahh,