cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

stopping a VI while it is still running

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi all,

This is my first time posting a question so bear with me.

So this is the thing: I am in charge of a very big project where we can communicate with our devices using the udp protocol.Obviously, I cannot share the whole project. When starting the program we want to search for our devices automatically. I thought about dividing this in two parts:

1. search for all ipaddresses that can be accessed by the computer. This is sort of a brute force approach since at startup we don't know what the ipaddresses of our device are, when DHCP is on.

2. Sending a UDP packet to every accessible IPaddress from (1) to know which device can be communicated with our own protocol.

Keep in mind that this will always run at startup.If we only want to see some results from earlier measurements of the device or do something else with the program where the device is not connected to the PC, it will still run at startup. This becomes quite annoying, so we want to cancel the search then. The search is done with for loops with iteration parallelism on. Is it possible to stop the search VI?

I have already seen that it is not possible to stop for loops with parallelism. If i turn off the iteration parallelism the for loops become very slow so that is a no go for me.So then i thought if it might be possible to stop or abort the VI itself, so I don't know if that is possible?

I will upload the VI in question where i do the 'brute-force' approach. I also let this VI on the foreground to show a progress bar that it is busy with searching.

If there are any question I will try to answer them.

Greetings,

Gerjan Hammink

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(2,702 Views)

No expert on this matter here. Just a couple of thoughts.