LabWindows/CVI

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Creating DLL with LabWindowsCVI or MSVC?

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

first of all, I am new to LabWIndows/CVI but have some experience with LabVIEW.

Up to now, I usually create dlls with MS Visual Studio and call the exported functions with the Call Library Node-VI.

These dlls provide some specific functions that are used in realtime and non-realtime applications (Windows, PXI, cRIO)

Now, I have seen that it is also possible to create dlls with LabWindows/CVI.

Is there any advantage using LabWindows/CVI? Like special libraries that can be used, better integration with the rest of a LabVIEW application etc?

At the moment, I am not sure for what purpose LabWindows/CVI should be used when creating LabVIEW applications.

Could someone please give some short information if LabWindows/CVI provides better ways to create dlls for LabVIEW?

Thanks,

Christian

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 7
(3,601 Views)

You can create DLL's with CVI - but only "non-active" DLL's that don't contain ActiveX objects.

I've created dozens of DLL's in CVI (and in MSVS for that matter), it's maybe quite not as straightforward as with MSVS but it does work.  I've used these with MSVS applications as well as CVI applications.

It may well be that LabView has a DLL authoring capability, but I don't know of one, I don't use LabView, just CVI.

If you do create a DLL in CVI, you will have a dependency on the CVI runtime (another set of DLL's) that will have to be installed with the CVI-authored DLL.  The number and specifics about the CVI runtime depends on what libraries you use in the DLL.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 7
(3,597 Views)

So this sounds as if there is no advantage using CVI if I just want to write dlls that do some calculations?

Regards,

Christian

0 Kudos
Message 3 of 7
(3,589 Views)
Solution
Accepted by ChristianEC