Motion Control and Motor Drives

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DC Motor Control using DAQ 6009

Hi, 

I am a Mechanical Engineering student and have relatively less knowledge with usage of NI DAQ.

I have tried running a DC Motor using the analog voltage signal generated from DAQ 6009.

I have used 0 - 5V , RSE and one sample on demand and the AO0 port in the DAQ and a numerical slider to control the voltage level.

But the motor is not running. Kindly suggest how to solve this...And if it is the form of a VI example , it will be much helpful. 

Thanks in advance.

Message 1 of 5
(8,782 Views)

Hi Mani-Tech,

Look at your motor power requirements. The NI USB 6009 can only source 10mA total.

For common small brushed DC motors, that doesn't even register on the Torque Speed curve

http://pdf.directindustry.com/pdf/ametek-technical-industrial-products/pittman-motors/14270-133515-_...

Even for realllly small brushed DC motors, the USB 6009 alone cannot source enough current to drive the motor:

https://downloads.maxonmotor.com/Katalog_neu/eshop/Downloads/Katalog_PDF/maxon_dc_motor/A-max-progra...

To control a brushed DC motor, you need a power source that will supply the required current at the right voltage based on your motor specifications. 

You will also need a drive circuit to vary the current in the motor windings. The complexity of this drive circuit will depend on what you want your motor to do.

Finally, you will require a controller to generate the PWM signal(s) that are inputs to the drive circuit. 

This is a good starting point for knowing what you will require:

http://ww1.microchip.com/downloads/en/appnotes/00905a.pdf

Best Regards,

Nate

Message 2 of 5
(8,781 Views)

HI Nate,

Thank you for your suggestions.

I have designed a temperature control system with the DAQ. When the temperature goes above  a certain level the motor should switch ON.