Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Help using labview and the usb 6259

Hi, Im new to labview and the NI USB 6259 device. Im trying to create a program that would let me use this hardware to output 4 different voltages (2V to 5V) and switch them in time.

Like output 1, 4 volts for 10 minutes, then output 2, 2 volts for 1 hour, then output 1 and 4, 3 volts for 30 minutes.

and also something like leaving output 1 and 4 static and setting output 2 and 3 to switch voltages back and forth.

So, do you know if theres already some labview modules that let me do this or where should i start looking?

Thanks in advance/

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(4,033 Views)

gpetre,

What you are looking to do is possible from a software standpoint. Let me introduce you to the Example Finder, in LabVIEW go to the Help menu and then look for Find Examples. This is always a good place to start when doing any programming because there are built in examples that you can reference as you write code. Specifically in your case you should look at an example called Voltage - On Demand Output.VI, most of the examples are also available online, so I linked it for you.

You will define the channels in the Physical Channel(s) terminal and you can have a single channel or multiple channels. By default the terminal is Dev1/ao0 in the program but you can change that to whatever you want. If you wanted 4 channels, let's say channels 0-3 then all you would need to do it have Dev1/ao0:3 as the channel list. You can also use the drop down arrow on the control and use the Browse option to select different lines that might not be adjacent.