NI TestStand

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Object Reference

Solved!
Go to solution
Hi : I am new to object oriented and .NET programming. To access a property in a .dll, I created an object reference to the property, but I got an error : The object specified in the class reference is not a .NET object. Since you are not creating a object, this must be a .NET object I went through NI's description below, but I am more confused. I can probably copy and paste from some other working code and get what I am trying to do to work. However, I want to understand objects, object references, classes, properties and methods as pertaining to how NI handles them in providing access to .NET modules. Where can I begin? Please help. Object Reference—A variable or property of type object reference. When a step creates an object, the .NET Adapter assigns the reference to the variable or property, if specified. Otherwise, the .NET Adapter automatically releases the reference after executing the step. If the step does not create an object, but instead calls a non-static method or accesses a property, this control must contain the value of a valid object reference that refers to the object on which to call the method or access the property. For static methods and properties, the .NET Adapter ignores this control. Click the Expression Browse button to launch the Expression Browser dialog box. Click Create Type from Struct to create a named data type that contains properties for each element in the struct selected in the Class control. If the step operates on a struct instead of an object, you can specify a variable or property of type object reference, or a named data type that contains properties for each element in the struct selected in the Class control. If you specify a named data type and the step creates the struct, the .NET Adapter calls a constructor for the struct to initialize its elements. If you specify a named data type and the step does n