cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

DAQmx usage for multiple channel read across multiple cards

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello everyone,

I am trying to use the DAQmx to read all the channels of my PXIe chassis. I have 2 1085 racks with same PXIe4300 AI cards in all slots. I tried to list all the channels in the physical channel input and when I tried to read, it showed me an error about syncing timing across multiple devices.

It doesn't show me this error when I read channels from the same card so I am guessing it is something to do with time syncing across different cards? Is there a way to set up the timing to read all the channels on different slots and different racks using the same DAQmx task? 

P.S. I am fairly new to LabVIEW 😄

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(282 Views)

From Easily Synchronize and Trigger NI-DAQmx with Channel Expansion

A task can include channels from multiple DSA, SC Express, and X Series devices given the following conditions:

• The devices must be in a single chassis, and the chassis must be identified in NI MAX.

So you would need separate tasks for each chassis. Search for "4300" in Synchronization Explained. Since NI-4300 does not have any PFI ports to route the trigger signal, you would need another module. PXIe-6674T has the best performance.

-------------------------------------------------------
Control Lead | Intelline Inc
Message 2 of 8
(259 Views)

The correct way to synchronize across multiple chassis without timing and synchronization options is to use a 6674T card on each chassis to externally route the triggers.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
Message 3 of 8
(241 Views)

Thank you for your reply!