Real-Time Measurement and Control

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

array fixed size error

Hello all,

I am new to LabVIEW and I am currently facing an issue regarding a compilation error. My board is USB 7856 EOM.

I am attaching an image of my code, the shift register here seems to be the issue as the error says "array does not resolve to a fixed size".

I am trying to send an array of data to my FIFO and basically send a set of points in the form of arrays, and once the array is filled, reinitialize/empty the array and fill it with the new set of points again. I have attached my VI as well which I will be using to do a frequency Sweep. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Download All
0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(114 Views)

Inside of the FGPA, the size of an array has to be fixed in size because you are defining hardware.  The solution here is actually fairly simple.  You only need 1 loop.  In this loop, you read the analog input and wire it straight to the Write FIFO.  This will continuously write your analog input to the FIFO.  There is no need to mess with an array at all.

GCentral
There are only two ways to tell somebody thanks: Kudos and Marked Solutions
Unofficial Forum Rules and Guidelines
"Not that we are sufficient in ourselves to claim anything as coming from us, but our sufficiency is from God" - 2 Corinthians 3:5
Message 2 of 4
(92 Views)

@ardanvarya wrote:

I am trying to send an array of data to my FIFO and basically send a set of points in the form of arrays, and once the array is filled, reinitialize/empty the array and fill it with the new set of points again. I have attached my VI as well which I will be using to do a frequency Sweep. Any suggestions would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance

On a side note, even on plain labVIEW (where arrays don't need to be fixed size!) your code makes absolutely no sense.