LabVIEW Interface for Arduino Discussions

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Arduino control threw wifi

im working on a side project for my current FIRST Robotics Team. 3146.

we are a reletivly new team, and i am new to this team. but right now we are using an RC controller to prototype without the crio, i know there is the openrobot controller out there but i am looking for something that is quick and easy to change between labview for crio and the arduino.

I have a wifi dongle for the arduino and i have been working with it for a while, the RN-XV. looks like a zigbee but its wifi. i was wondering if i could get Labivew to communicat threw the dongle rather than the usb port?

to be compleatly honnest i havent put much thought into this yet, but i would like some help its one of thoes last minute ideas.

To break it down, how would i go about running the labview interface for arduino threw wifi?

and how can i program in an "E-stop" condition.. EX loss of signal stop all motors. insted of with RC controllers it just sends a bad signal and it can do whatever it wants.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 3
(4,838 Views)

Hey jchalo99,

I don't think this is a great use case for LIFA - at least without some major changes. The latency between the Arduino and the computer is prohibitive for high speed control applications- since you have to send a command and then wait for a response. You would want to make it so that a lot more of the control was done on the Arduino side- which would require some major changes to the framework. I also don't think you are going to gain the benefits you are looking for - since the LabVIEW Code you would write to use with LIFA is not going to work in the FRC framework.  Post back if you have questions.

Kevin Fort
Principal Software Engineer
NI
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 3
(2,802 Views)