LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Data Value Reference bug?

Solved!
Go to solution

I can't pretend that I am an expert of Data Value Reference (DVR) but here is an intriguing behavior...

Here is an excerpt of my diagram (to focus on the region of interest. I honestly believe the rest of it is irrelevant but will post the VI if asked):

ScreenHunter_002.jpg

I have basically a large data structure which I want to upload to a processing VI only once. This is what the case structure is for: first call, I make a copy of the data and store it in a shift register of the external while loop; any call after that, I do nothing with the DVR (the DVR wire is basically propagated untouched to a DVR indicator which is handled in the calling VI).

Totally unrelated is the two-pronged Boolean shift register to the right. At this stage, one of the register is uninitialized and my VI is broken... But wait! Take a look at the error window:

ScreenHunter_003.jpg

What happened to my DVR? Unsupported type???

Nevermind, let me first initialize the shift register and I'll look into that later:

ScreenHunter_006.jpg

OK, so now my shift register is fixed...and so is the DVR as well!

If I remove the shift register initialization, the DVR error pops up again.

Odd...

Message 1 of 9
(4,056 Views)

It appears that these unrelated DVR errors appear in many cases. I just used one in another subVI and while I was drawing up the diagram, I had a bunch of expected error PLUS the same "invalid contained type" error, although the DVR was untouched...

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(4,041 Views)

Since I am the only one to be entertained, here is a follow up on this story. The diagram below uses the same DVR as above:

ScreenHunter_001.jpg

Really nothing fancy. But there is an error. Can you find it? If not, you are not helped by the Error List window which shows:

ScreenHunter_003.jpg