cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

downloading labview program on multiple robots

Solved!
Go to solution

Hello,

I am new to labview and robotics kit. My question is how to download a simple example(obstacle avoidance) on to multiple robots at the same time. I am able to download it separatly one by one and it is taking time. Is there a way such that all the robots with ethernet cables are connected to the switch and controlled simultaneously and program each one just by giving name or ip adress ??

Thanks

Goutham

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 4
(2,676 Views)

There are a couple approaches I might consider.

First is that you could build the obstacle avoidance program you have in to a Real-Time Executable.  If you set the executable to run on startup, then all of the robots would run the obstacle avoidance program as soon as the boot up.

Second is that you could try running the code that would normally run on the Real-Time operating system on your desktop machine.  Then you would just use a different FPGA reference for each robot.  You would have to make the program re-entrant and then have an FPGA reference as an input control, but other than that, it should work very similar to how you were asking.  The one problem I could see is that by doing this, you are not making use of the real-time operating system.  I do not know if the network would be able to keep up.

What are you hoping to do by running them all at once?  Maybe there's an even better solution to accomplish what you're looking for.

0 Kudos
Message 2 of 4
(2,670 Views)

Hi,