LabVIEW

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

having trouble getting RPM from prox sensor

I've been trying to use a proximity sensor to find the RPM on a dyno, but am having some trouble with the LV coding (I'm new to LV).  Using a cRIO 9012 with NI 9205 module.  The prox sensor basically gives about an 8V signal when a tooth on a gear passes in front of it (theres 15 teeth).  While I can get the counter part going, I can't get anything after that part in the code to work, in order to find the RPM.  I think one problem might be with timing, where the prox sensor will be going at about 500 Hz, so I'm not sure if thats giving the differential function problems?  Is a timing loop even the right thing to use?  Eventually I'd like this to run standalone on the cRIO and write to a USB stick but I know how to do that part.  If anyone could help me solve this or let me know a better way to find the RPMs it would be much appreciated.  I've tried everything I can think of, I couldn't get functions that find the frequency or period to work when I made the signal into a waveform (square wave) even though I thought that would be the simplest method.  Thanks! LV prox.jpg

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 12
(3,074 Views)

hey c ryan!

If you are trying to read a signal of 8V highs and close-to-zero lows, you are right in thinking the simplest way would be to read in the signal as a waveform and find its frequency.

Is the 9205 the source of the 8V high, and is that the information being passed through the variables AI0 and AI8? If so, it looks like you are passing the data as a single double input. You need an array to make it a waveform, which is probably why the functions you mentioned were not working. When you tried to use them, what error messages did you receive?  

In general, is there a reason you are using a proxy server? It is usually much easier to read directly from your device. 

~kgarrett

District Sales Engineer
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 12
(3,046 Views)