Machine Vision

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Image acquistion setup with strobe and usb 3.0 camera

I am currently building a setup to acquire images of fast-flowing liquid using a strobe light and USB 3.0 Camera. I am a beginner with the LabVIEW and image acquisition setup.

I have selected a camera that is USB 3.0 vision compliant. The camera has a specification of 2 MP and a global shutter. I have not purchased it yet.

Camera specification: Basler a2A1920-160umBAS, 1/2.3 in. format, C-Mount, 1920 x 1200, 160 fps, Monochrome, CMOS Global Sh...

I would like to ask the community how I should approach building the acquisition hardware and software setup. I need to synchronize the strobe and camera so that the camera shutter is open for a longer duration than the strobe duration. The strobe duration is 0.5 microseconds. I plan to capture images for 1Hz for starters then increase the speed as needed.

Hardware in hand: GenRad1538-A strobe, NI9402 with CDAQ module.

Planning to purchase: Camera, USB 3.0 cable (I am not sure if a separate trigger cable is required)

Appreciate it if you could share any important blogs and forum discussions in mind. Thank you for your time and suggestions.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(929 Views)

It looks like you are planning on purchasing the hardware from Graftek (good choice).  Have you talked to them about this?  They are very good at helping you figure out what hardware you need and how you should set things up.