Multifunction DAQ

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Suitable device for thermocouple data acquisition simultaneous to USB 6210/6212 DAQ

Solved!
Go to solution

Hi,

I have USB 6210 and 6212 DAQs for analog voltage reading from sensors. Now I want to read temperature(Accuracy +/- 0.5C) simultaneous to the analog voltage reading by extending my existing LabVIEW code.

Recently, I have found out that I can not use K type TC directly to my DAQ. I need a separate signal conditioning circuit. I am not good at electronics, therefore I am looking for easy way out ideas for this application. 

I am thinking of using thermocouple analog conditioning interface(https://www.digikey.com/en/products/detail/playing-with-fusion-inc/FDQ-10001-K/13998047?s=N4IgTCBcDa...) to use. As far as I understand, I can connect the K type thermocouples here and get the analog data to USB daqs, then calibrate the data according to the equation to get the temperature(Celsius data). Am I going into the right direction?

Do you have any more suggestions for devices that will make my life easy considering the application? My budget is around $500.

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 9
(440 Views)
Solution
Accepted by Jarir

How many TCs? If your budget is $500, you may be able to get another DAQ that directly supports TC reading.

https://www.ni.com/en-us/shop/model/usb-tc01.html

If you want to get a +/-0.5C accuracy, have you attempted to calculate your overall accuracy, resolution of the setup with DAQ 621x with the Thermocouple signal conditioner?

The more stages in the signal chain, the more the sources of error.

Santhosh
Soliton Technologies

New to the forum? Please read community guidelines and how to ask smart questions

Only two ways to appreciate someone who spent their free time to reply/answer your question - give them Kudos or mark their reply as the answer/solution.

Finding it hard to source NI hardware? Try NI Trading Post
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 9
(418 Views)