NI ELVIS

cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

NI ELVIS III and labVIEW 2018

Hello Everyone, 

I'm a student and recently purchased NI ELVIS III as a college requirement. I installed Labview 2018 with NI ELVIS III  toolkit and NI ELVISmx. I am unable to find the ELVIS III whenever I start a new vi. It ask me to specified device but nothing show on the device list. picture attached

To add more details, I'm working on a very simple program (digital thermometer) I wrote the program and wired correctly however when I run the program it show "Error -200220 occurred at DAQmx Create Channel (AO-Voltage-Basic).vi:1870002" when I try to create an input it shows device list as an "empty string"

Here what I have already did

1- updated ELVIS III on NI Max and it show "present" I also able to use DMM and VPS via the website only https://measurementslive.ni.com/

2- uninstall and install the software 3 maybe 4 times trying to solve the issue but still having the same problem

Any ideas ?

0 Kudos
Message 1 of 8
(5,231 Views)

Hi Llawrence,

NI ELVIS III does not use ELVISmx, it uses the NI ELVIS III Toolkit which it looks like you have installed as well. The reason why your NI ELVIS III does not show up is that you are using the ELVISmx Express VI.

I recommend following this tutorial for programming NI ELVIS III in LabVIEW: http://www.ni.com/example/54788/en/

Brian H. -- Electronics & Measurements Product Marketing Manager
0 Kudos
Message 2 of 8
(5,132 Views)

I have similar problem to Llawrence. I'm tasked to convert LabVIEW 2017 labs (written for ELVIS II prototype boards) to work with ELVIS III prototype boards for a course this fall. I am a student TA with my own Windows10 laptop running LabVIEW 2019 licence.